Jump to content

VALIS Announce Release Of New Album 'Minds Through Space And Time' Out Digitally On October 5th

Rock-trio VALIS (Vast Active Living Intelligence System) are excited to announce the release of their newest record 'Minds Through Space and Time' on October 5th via Strange Earth Records. 'Minds Through Space and Time', the band's fourth full-length album and first since 2009's 'Dark Matter', will be available at all online digital outlets, with release of 180 gram colored vinyl and CD to be announced in the future. The album was produced by Jack Endino (Mudhoney, Soundgarden, and Nirvana).

The band is also releasing a free digital download and music video for the album's first single, 'Space Station'.

The Pacific-Northwest band is currently made up of former Screaming Trees band member Van Conner (bass, vocals) and his brother Patrick Conner (guitar, vocals), with Matt Vandenberghe (drums) rounding out these two original members. Formed in the basement of Mudhoney drummer Dan Peters back in 1996, VALIS began as a casual side project for both Conner and Peters along with Van's brother Patrick (Kitty Kitty) and Kurt Danielson (TAD). In 1996, VALIS released their first record, a split release with Kitty Kitty on Frank Kozik's Mans Ruin label followed by releases for the European label Lunasound, and Detroit's Small Stone.

Over the years, the lineup has changed several times and has included the aforementioned Dan Peters, Kurt Danielson (TAD, Vaporland), Sean Hollister (King Krab), Adrian Makins (All Time High), as well as producer Wes Weresch. Matt Vandenberghe joined the lineup in 2008. Following the 2009 release of 'Dark Matter,' Adrian left the band and Van switched back to his native bass. On 'Minds Through Space and Time', Van and Patrick share the vocal duties, and Matt lays down the heavy groove.

Go to the Strange Earth youtube site to see the video!