Jump to content

SOLITUDE AETURNUS begin recording new album

Long-running Arlington, Texas-based doom metallers SOLITUDE AETURNUS entered Nomad Recording studio (MERCYFUL FATE, KING DIAMOND, ABSU, USURPER) in Carrolton, TX on June 1 to begin recording their new album for Massacre Records.

Entitled "Alone", the CD will be the first to feature the band's new line-up, which includes founder/guitarist John Perez, vocalist Robert Lowe, guitarist Steve Moseley and new members Steve Nichols on drums and James Martin on bass. Engineering and co-producing the album is Sterling Winfield, best known for his work with Pantera and more recently the REBEL MEETS REBEL release. Massacre Records will release the album in late September/early October. According to guitarist John Perez, the album will be "a fist in the face to all trend metal" and will stay true to the band's original vision of heaviness and melody with a willingness to push the boundaries of heavy metal music without losing its sense of tradition. Songtitles set to appear on the band's first album since 1998's "Adagio" include "Sightless" (mp3), "Waiting for the Light", "Scent of Death", "Essence of Black", and "In Hell I Burn". A North American release is also planned, but no label has been named as of yet.


In other news, Perez has issued the following statement: "The band wishes to give monstrous amounts of gratitude and thanks to all the great people that made their recent mini-tour in Greece/Germany/Italy such a great success. The Greek shows were some of the best the band had played in years and the Keep it True festival was another highlight. More apologies are in order to all of those that attended the Doom Shall Rise festival as Robert Lowe was unable to attend due to unforeseen problems with his passport. The band made the best of the situation and played on with gracious help from a few other vocalists: Erico from Dantesco, Timmy from Doomshine and Gerrit from Dawn Of Winter."