Repertoire Records: UFO - The Best of the Decca Years 1970-1973

UFO is one of the UK’s most spaced out rock bands of the Seventies and beyond. The now long established group was born way back in 1969 as Hocus Pocus, but when they changed the name to UFO, they became pioneers of a new sound, blending space rock with good time boogie.

This double CD set flies us back to the early years, when the lads were signed to Decca and released debut album 'UFO 1' in 1970, followed by 'UFO 2 – Flying – One Hour Space Rock' in 1971 and 'UFO Live' in 1972. They provide the source material for the 22 tracks on this essential 'Best Of' collection, along with the A and B-sides of a pair of rare singles – 'Galactic Love' b/w 'Loving Cup' and 'Give Her The Gun' b/w 'Sweet Little Thing'.

CD2 contains long versions of 4 great UFO classics.

Rock history in the making, as we hear vocalist Phil Mogg in fiery form, backed by Mick Bolton (guitar), Pete Way (bass) and Andy Parker (drums). Watch out for great performances like 'Prince Kajuku', 'Galactic Love' and 'Give Her The Gun', as well as the epic extended arrangements of 'Star Storm' and 'Flying'. UFO went on to even greater things – but this is where it all began and rocked on.

Booklet with authoritative and extensive liner notes written by respected 'Record Collector' journalist Michael Heatley.

UK Release Date – 11 June, 2012
European Release Date – 27 April, 2012



CD 1
01. Boogie
02. Prince Kajuku
03. Timothy
04. C'mon Everybody
05. Follow You Home
06. Shake It About
07. Galactic Love (Single Edit)
08. The Coming Of Prince Kajuku
09. (Come Away) Melinda
10. Unidentified Flying Object
11. Loving Cup (Single Edit)
12. Give Her The Gun (Single Edit)
13. Sweet Little Thing (Single Edit)
14. Treacle People
15. Evil
16. Silver Bird
17. Who Do You Love
18. Prince Kajuku / The Coming Of Prince Kajuku

CD 2 (Extended versions)
01. Star Storm (18'53")
02. Flying (26'29")
03. Who Do You Love (9'30")
04. Boogie For George (11'42")