Jump to content

NECRONAUT: Cover Art + Track Listing Revealed

After more than 20 active years within the death metal scene, former Dismember/Carnage drummer Fred Estby needed to express his passion for different kinds of extreme music; a passion he's bore since his youth. In 2008, Estby started writing/recording material with the intention of utilizing one unique vocalist for each song. Dubbed NECRONAUT, the project would become a reality just one year later when the drummer began contacting the many talented metal musicians he had in mind.

NECRONAUT's self-titled full-length is slated for release later this year via Regain Records. The cover was created by Chet Zar , known for his makeup effects for movies such as The Ring, Planet of the Apes and Darkman [www.chetzar.com]. NECRONAUT's approach is crude and dead simple a la early Bathory and Venom fused with Black Sabbath and Iron Maiden, but with an unorthodox, bass-heavy production that allows the album to stand out amongst its peers. The goal was primitive brute force, but because of the manner in which Estby chose to achieve it, he also managed to create an aura of pure malevolence that, prior to this album’s creation, was likely difficult to imagine. Check out the final track listing and guest list below. Check out the cover art here: http://tinyurl.com/26psgpk  

Track list/Guest list:

1. Crimson Fields - Chris Reifert (Speech)

2. Twilight At The Trenches - Andreas "Drette" Axelson (Vocals)

3. In Dark Tribute - Hellbutcher (Vocals), Tyrant (Lead Guitar)

4. Soulside Serpents - JB (Vocals), Robert "Strings" Dahlqvist (Lead Guitar), Robert Pehrsson (Lead Guitar)

5. Infecting Madness - Chris Reifert (Vocals), Uffe Cederlund (Lead Guitar)

6. After The Void - Joakim Nilsson (Vocals), David Blomqvist (Lead Guitar)

7. The Lie In Which The Truth Is Buried - Fred Estby (Vocals), Nicke Andersson (Lead Guitar)

8. Returning To Kill The Light - Erik Danielsson (Vocals), JB (Lead Guitar)

9. Tower Of Death - Nicke Andersson (Vocals)

10. Rise Of The Sentinel - Tomas Lindberg (Vocals), David Blomqvist (Lead Guitar)

Who's Who: Hellbutcher (Nifelheim), Tyrant (Nifelheim, Dagger), Andreas "Drette" Axelson (Tormented, Tortyr, ex-Edge Of Sanity), Chris Reifert (Autopsy, ex-Abscess), Uffe Cederlund (Disfear, Principals Of Existence, ex-Entombed), JB (Grand Magus), Erik (Watain), Tomas Lindberg (Disfear, At The Gates, The Great Deceiver), Nicke Andersson (Imperial State Electric, Death Breath), Joakim Nilsson (Graveyard), David Blomqvist (Dismember, Dagger, Shreds Of Death), Robert "Strings" Dahlqvist (Dundertåget, Thunder Express), Robert Pehrsson (Dundertåget, Death Breath, Thunder Express)