Jump to content

COMA WALL / UNDERSMILE ‘Wood & Wire’ Digital Downloads & Full Stream Now Available

The wait is over as the much anticipated COMA WALL / UNDERSMILE Split 12” ‘Wood & Wire’ is now officially released via Shaman Recordings and to help celebrate this monumental day, you can now stream the entire album below as well as purchase the Digital Download for the measly sum of £4 from the Shaman Recordings Bandcamp Page: http://shamanrecordings.bandcamp.com/album/wood-wire 

Read on for more info about the 12″…

‘Wood & Wire’ brings together Oxford’s monolithic Undersmile and their acoustic alter-ego Coma Wall on one release.

Although this is Coma Wall‘s debut release, they’ve already gained fans after playing sets at Desertfest 2012 and supporting Dylan Carlson (of Earth) on his first ever solo show. This recording sees the band laid bare – no amps, no fuzz boxes, just acoustic guitars, percussion and a banjo that showcases their own brand of Dark Americana and doomy folk.

On the other hand Undersmile, having been endorsed by the likes of Earth’s Dylan Carlson and Henry Rollins of Black Flag, are both engaging and crushing, blending numerous influences from Swans to Babes in Toyland to arrive at a genuinely fresh, cohesive, and brutal sound. Their debut album ‘Narwhal‘, released last year by Future Noise Recordings, was met with huge praise from both fans and press alike. For these tracks, the band enlisted the help of Justin Greaves (Iron Monkey, Electric Wizard, Crippled Black Phoenix) to oversee the engineering and his contribution to the recording process helped to further display Undersmile’s diversity and musical growth, as well as their desire to capture a warmer, more ‘live’ sound.

Mastering for both recordings was once again handled by Billy Anderson (Sleep, Neurosis, Melvins) and the amazing artwork was handled by up and coming Illustrator Craig Bryant.


‘Wood & Wire’ Track listing…


Coma Wall

A1. Summer

A2. You Are My Death

A3. Cutter’s Choice



B1. Soil

B2. Killer Bob

B3. Hives


‘Wood & Wire‘ is out now on limited to 500 copies transparent purple vinyl which comes with lyric sheet & digital download card and can be purchased direct from Shaman Recordings:http://www.shamanrecordings.com/releases/coma-wall-undersmile-wood-wire/